San Miguel de Tucumán, sometimes simply called Tucumán, is the capital of the province of Tucumán, located in the northwest of the Argentine Republic, 1,311 km from the city of Buenos Aires. It is located very close to the right bank of the Salí River, also called the Dulce River. The Garden of the Republic and Cradle of Argentine Independence are its best-known nicknames. It is known as the Capital of the North, for being the most developed and populated city in this region. It is the fifth largest city in Argentina, after Buenos Aires, Córdoba, Rosario and Mendoza. It is also the most important city in the Norte Grande Argentino region. Its growth has exceeded the original limits, leading it to occupy territories of the surrounding departments in all directions, thus giving rise to the Greater San Miguel de Tucumán conurbation.Its historical importance is mainly due to that it was in this city where the Declaration of Independence of Argentina was produced, on July 9, 1816. That is why, since 1991, by decree of the National Executive Power, on July 8 and 9 of each year, the city of San Miguel de Tucumán symbolically becomes the capital of the country.

Circuits that include Tucuman

Destinations related to Tucuman